OpenHPC Technical Steering Committee Year in Review

The OpenHPC Technical Steering Committee adjourned its regular meetings for the remainder of the calendar year. We would like to thank the entire community for the success of this project and in particular thank the volunteer contributors to the Technical Steering Committee.

Here are some of the highlights from 2016

  • Formalized governance process with governing board and this Technical Steering Committee (TSC) as a Linux Foundation Collaborative Project
  • TSC formally begins meeting at beginning of June 2016:
    OpenHPC 2016 CI Infrastructure

    OpenHPC 2016 CI Infrastructure

    • settles on updated mission/vision statements
    • hosts BoF and booth at ISC’16
    • settles on some basic path conventions
    • decided to submit intro paper to HPCSYSPROS’16 (accepted and presented at SC’16 in November)
    • started to use Slack in Aug for more interactive comms
    • iterated thru creation of a component selection process:voted to adopt hybrid mode for feedback (public plus optional private
      • enabled new submission site on Github on Sept 19
      • completed 1st review cycle and scheduled several additions for the v1.2 release (accepted 6/7 in some form)
    • released v1.2 right before SC’16
      • over 60% of the existing components had version updates
      • enabled public CI infrastructure hosted at member site (TACC)
        The 2016 OpenHPC mailing list subscriber growth

        The 2016 OpenHPC mailing list subscriber growth(TACC)

      • added 4 components that came through component selection process
      • enabled ARM builds to include in Tech Preview
    • created simple system registry form
    • hosted well-attended BoF at SC’16
  • Sample download statistics:
    • over 4TB downloaded since launch
    • downloads from 84 countries

Project Lead Karl Schulz would like to thank the 2016 members of the OpenHPC Technical Steering Committee for their work and dedication to the project:

  • Reese Baird, Intel (Maintainer)
  • Pavan Balaji, Argonne National Laboratory (Maintainer)
  • David Brayford, LRZ (Maintainer)
  • Todd Gamblin, Lawrence Livermore National Labs (Maintainer)
  • Craig Gardner, SUSE (Maintainer)
  • Yiannis Georgiou, ATOS (Maintainer)
  • Balazs Gerofi, RIKEN (Component Development Representative)
  • Jennifer Green, Los Alamos National Laboratory (Maintainer)
  • Eric Van Hensbergen, ARM (Maintainer, Testing Coordinator)
  • Douglas Jacobsen, NERSC (End-User/Site Representative)
  • Chulho Kim, Lenovo (Maintainer)
  • Greg Kurtzer, Lawrence Berkeley National Labs (Component Development Representative)
  • Thomas Moschny, ParTec (Maintainer)
  • Karl W. Schulz, Intel (Project Lead, Testing Coordinator)
  • Derek Simmel, Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center (End-User/Site Representative)
  • Thomas Sterling, Indiana University (Component Development Representative)
  • Craig Stewart, Indiana University (End-User/Site Representative)
  • Scott Suchyta, Altair (Maintainer)
  • Nirmala Sundararajan, Dell (Maintainer)